Election of Maharashtra Assembly Speaker Today – Everything You Need to Know


Leaders of Maha Vikas Aghadi (MVA) | Photo credit: PTI


  • Two-day monsoon session at Maharashtra Assembly to end today
  • Election of Maharashtra Assembly Speaker scheduled to take place today

Bombay: The two-day monsoon session of the Legislative Assembly of Maharashtra will end on Tuesday and as announced by some leaders of Maha Vikas Aghadi (MVA), elections for the new Speaker of the Assembly are expected to take place today.

The political temperature was already high in Maharashtra amid reports of tensions within the MVA government, and it escalated further today after the Speaker of the Assembly suspended 12 BJP MPs for creating heckling and misbehaving in the House.

However, MVA leaders maintain that despite the BJP’s “pressure tactics” and “disinformation campaigns”, the current coalition government will complete its term without collapsing.

Maharashtra Congress leader Nana Patole confirmed last week that the MVA government led by Shiv Sena wanted the election of the president to take place during the monsoon session of the Maharashtra Assembly.

Interestingly, he said the new president will be from the Congress party. It should be noted that the post of president became vacant in February of this year after Patole resigned to take over the presidency of the state Congress.

Training weapons at the BJP, Nana Patole said, “The BJP is trying to be political on the issue using the governor’s office. We don’t care about such tactics.”

“The final decision on the election of the president will be taken after receipt of the coronavirus test results from all MPs. We support the position taken by Chief Minister Uddhav Thackeray in his response to the governor’s letter,” he said. -he adds.

Returning on Friday, Maharashtra Chief Minister Uddhav Thackeray wrote a letter to Governor Bhagat Singh Koshyari, in which he defended the government’s decision to hold the monsoon session of the legislature for only two days, claiming that the duration cannot be extended given the current coronavirus. situation.

Earlier today, during the monsoon session, up to 12 BJP MPs were suspended from the Maharashtra legislature for allegedly “misbehaving” with Speaker Bhaskar Jadhav in the House.

Parliamentary Affairs Minister Anil Parab introduced a resolution to suspend MPs and the House passed it by majority.

Suspended MPs include Dr Sanjay Kute, Ashish Shelar, Abhimanyu Pawar, Girish Mahajan, Atul Bhatkhalkar, Harish Pimple, Jaikumar Rawal, Yogesh Sagar, Narayan Kuche, Bunty Bhangdiya, Parag Alvani and Ram Satpute.

Maharashtra Minister Chhagan Bhujbal said the Assembly session was adjourned today after the heckling over the use of abusive language against the Assembly Speaker. The incident was captured on CCTV, he said.

The heckling arose when the government of Maha Vikas Aghadi passed a resolution asking the central government for empirical data on CBOs.

Source link

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.